2017, poetry, verbonaut

my veins.

see
its about
forty seven minutes
past eleven
(at night)
and
i’m looking
at my face
in a dirty old mirror
more specifically
i’m looking
at the veins
under my eyes
(which i normally hide)
and for the
first time
i’m not thinking
that it makes me
look tired
or ill
or sick
instead
i’m thinking
of how those veins
are so close
to the surface
of my skin
so full to the brim
of my life force
practically
bursting
pumping
gallon upon gallon
of blood
through my system
keeping
every part of
me
functioning
living
and the veins
on my arms
and my face
are not
a sign of
fragility
nor transparency
but
strength
and
the idea of fuelling
of powering something
so
much
more.

i am more.

and for once
my god
i feel alive.

maiya calise

8 thoughts on “my veins.”

Leave a Reply

