2017, Incredible Blogger Marathon Challenge, poetry, verbonaut

happiness.

ibmc1010

What is happiness?

Happiness is not a thing that I can describe easily. I’ve been sat at my computer for an hour and a half; drafting, re-drafting and deleting a hundred different answers.

And in the end, all I can do is ramble. So instead, I have a poem.

when he asked me
what happiness was
whilst looking
at my
face
i could not tell him.
i would not answer.

and when he asked me
what happiness was
whilst looking
in my
eyes
i stumbled and tripped
a few words spilled out.

and when he asked me
what happiness was
whilst talking about
my memories
i told him it was
everything that came before
to bring me to where i am

but when he asked
what happiness was
whilst
looking
no
staring
into the deepest
darkest
parts of my soul
and could still say he loved me
i found my feet
i found my words
and i said

happiness
is
you.

So, I drew a little inspiration from an amazing poet for the final lines – you guys should really check out Poetry Cove on Instagram. And that’s it folks! I have officially completed the Incredible Blogger Marathon Challenge’s last task – I hope you enjoyed reading my posts.

For my other stuff from this set of challenges just click here and enjoy reading!

Source: The Happiness Challenge, IBMC #10

Leave a Reply

